South Korea Ambassador to Ghana calls on Minister for Communications and Digitalisation

The South Korean Ambassador to Ghana, H.E Jung-Taek Lim today, Wednesday May 26, 2021 paid a courtesy call on the Minister for Communications and Digitalisation, Mrs. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful (MP), to discuss how technology could be used to develop the country in terms of trading and e-commerce.

In digitising the economy, H.E Jung-Taek said South Korea government is constantly providing e-government services to every sector of the country. He gave an assurance that since Ghana is a secured country, he would want more investors from South Korea to transact businesses in the country.

The minister on her part was impressed about how South Korea has used technology to manage the COVID-19 pandemic, and the opportunities derived from that as a country. She stated that the government of Ghana, the ministry and its agencies have taken advantage of such an opportunity.

According to Mrs. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, the ministry is in the process of spearheading the digitalisation of the entire government and is working with the Ministry of Finance to see how to digitalise the entire economy.

She revealed that His Excellency the President of Ghana sees the need to use technology to improve delivery of government services at all levels that is why he added the additional mandate of digitalization to the Ministry of Communications.

Mrs. Owusu-Ekuful noted that the ministry will be grateful to partner with South Korea to establish digital infrastructure, application services, linking the country’s data basis and e governance services.

At end of the call, the minister expressed appreciation about the cooporation between the two countries and looked forward to greater engagements in the future.

In attendance were Communications and Digitalization Minister, Mrs. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, the Chief Director of the Ministry, Mrs. Magdalene Apenteng, South Korea Ambassador, H.E Jung-Taek Lim, the Ambassadors entourage from Foreign Affairs Ministry and some staff of Communications and Digitalisation Ministry.